

AWARDS NIGHT

2023-2024

October 30, 2024



Ceremony Hosts
Paige Hafner
Adrian Peckham

Land Acknowledgement Hayden Midford Annaeka Roth

> O Canada Gracie Appleton

Message from Elk Island Public Schools
Trustee Don Irwin

Message from the Principal Ken Wlos

Awards Presentations

Christine Schmid Memorial Scholarship

Presenter Peter & Barbara Schmid

Recipient Aly Gariepy

Battle of the Chefs Award

Presenter Jennifer Steele-Watts

Recipient Owen Inkster

Creative Music Award

Presenter Andrew Sutherland

Recipient Alisha Babiuk

Inter Pipeline Discovery Award Nominee

Presenter Karen-Ann Huisman Recipient Everett Crosby

Kala Fresh Vending Award for Welding

Presenter Spencer & Kayla Pasi Recipient Devon Weleschuk

Grade 12 General Award Recipients

Jostens President Award

Presenter Angela Moore
Recipient Calum Davis

Smart Photography Scholarship

Presenter Cliff Smith
Recipient Jenna Alibhai

Service Master Community Award

Presenter Cara Smith
Recipient Owen Inkster

Sherwood Park Elks Scholarship Recipient

Presenter Heather McLeod
Recipient Dominic Semple

PCL Local 488 Welding "Flame to Fame" Scholarships

Presenters Pedro Mendes – PCL Constr.

Boyd Currie - Local Union 488 Dan Watson - Local Union 488

Recipients Nathan Schmidt

Nathan Mischke

Grade 11 General Award Recipients

Wes Tec Innovation Scholarship

Presenters Jessica Van de Wetering

Recipient Marcus Butts

Sherwood Park Rotary Club Award

Presenter David Hay
Recipient Taylor Filipek

Patricia Gau Science Scholarship

Presenter Paul Schwartz Recipient Kayla Ursuliak Kevin Gaetz Awards

Presenter Adam Lawlor Recipients Harleen Kaur

Alessa Rae Polmo

Grade 10 General Award Recipients

Schulich Leader Nominee

Presenter Tiffany Tattrie
Nominee Avery Woodland

Highest Average Grade 10

Presenter Renetta Peddle Recipient Alexander Dai

Highest Average Grade 11

Presenter Kelly Ferguson
Recipient Ainsley Clark
Recipient Danae Funnell

Highest Average Grade 12

Presenter Paul Schwartz
Recipient Lincoln Ohuchi

Premier's Citizenship Award

Presenter Karin Holt
Nominee Avarey Frayn

Governor General's Academic Award

Presenter Ken Wlos

Recipient Lincoln Ohuchi

General Award Recipients include:

Honour and Merit are based on the Alexander Rutherford Scholarship Criteria.

Honour Awards represent an average of 80% and above.

Merit Awards represent an average of 75% - 80%.

Highest Mark in Core and Option Courses

Outstanding in CTS

Christine Schmid Memorial Scholarship
Awarded to a student who will be pursuing post-secondary studies in the areas of Education, Art and/or French. The scholarship recipient will show service to the community, school, and fellow students, participation in community activities and extra-curricular school activities and a caring attitude towards others.

Battle of the Chefs

Awarded to students who have been accepted into a Canadian post-secondary institution in a first-year culinary program. The recipient must be a graduating student who displays outstanding achievement in food and/or culinary courses and involvement and leadership in the program.

Creative Music Award

Awarded to a grade 12 General Music or Rock & Pop student who demonstrates outstanding leadership and commitment, performance and technical skills and creativity.

Inter Pipeline Discovery Award

Awarded to a grade 12 student pursuing post-secondary education in an industry related field. The recipient for this award is selected by Inter Pipeline Discovery Award's selection committee.

Kala Fresh Vending Award for Welding
Awarded to a student who has shown significant improvement in overall achievement during high school.

Jostens President's Award

This award is given to a student who has shown exceptional leadership qualities and has taken on significant leadership roles within their graduating class. Recipients have consistently demonstrated leadership, positive influence, character, integrity and a strong commitment to their peers and the success of the class.

Smart Photography Scholarship

The recipient of this award consistently maintains solid academics, is actively involved in a variety of school community activities and contributes to the positive environment of the school.

ServiceMaster Clean of Edmonton Community Service
Awarded to a student who has shown significant improvement in overall achievement during high school, has a strong vocational career focus, and has engaged in community through service.

Sherwood Park Elks Scholarship

Awarded to a student pursuing post-secondary studies. The student should be involved in school and/or community activities.

PCL Local 488 Welding "Flame to Fame" Scholarship
This scholarship is awarded to the student that best represents what an
employer would desire in an employee. Attendance, attention to detail,
willingness to help others, pride in their craft, and a positive attitude.

Wes Tec Innovation Scholarship

Dow Canada recognizes an EIPS student for their academic achievements,
demonstration of innovation and pursuits in science, technology,

engineering and mathematics (STEM).

Sherwood Park Rotary Club Scholarship
Awarded to a student who has demonstrated significant academic improvement during their high school career, and who has made contributions to their school and/or community consistent with the Rotary motto of "service before self."

Patricia Gau Science Scholarship

Awarded to a student who plans to enroll in a post-secondary program in Science or Science related fields. The scholarship recipient has demonstrated an exemplary attitude, effort and a genuine enthusiasm for science and achieved a satisfactory academic standing in science.

Kevin Gaetz Award

Recognizes and supports students in their pursuit of post-secondary education. Given to a student who meets the entrance requirements for the program of post-secondary studies to be supported and demonstrates perseverance and commitment to post-secondary education, or a desire and determination to pursue further learning in an area of interest.

Schulich Leader Scholarship

Awarded to entrepreneurial minded high school graduates enrolling in a Science, Technology, Engineering or Math program at twenty partner universities across Canada.

Every high school in Canada can nominate one graduating student each year to apply for the scholarship.

Premier's Citizenship Award

Awarded annually to a student who has displayed outstanding characteristics in citizenship, leadership, community service and/or engagement in volunteer work, shows initiative and has a positive impact in the school community.

Governor General's Academic Award

Awarded to the student who achieves the highest average upon graduation. The average includes all grade 11 and grade 12 courses as listed on the student's official Transcript of Grades issued by the ministry of education.



Sincere gratitude to the following: **Awards Committee Bev Facey Staff Parents and Families**

To all the Award/Scholarship Sponsors:

We appreciate your generous support of our students.



FOLLOW US!









@bevfacey O @bevfaceychs